“Old” Idol Stars Who Look Young

Is it just me or do Koreans not age? I hope you don’t take that in a racist way, because I’m certainly not a racist. I’ve just noticed a lot of Korean Idol Stars who are at, very close to, or over 30, could pass for 25 or younger. There are tons of idols who are in their twenties who look like teenagers, but if I made that list it’d be way too long. BIGBANG’s G-Dragon is 22 but when he acts cute he looks young enough to be 18. BEAST’s Yoseob is 21, but one of my friends thought he was 17, and I won’t even start on Super Junior. Anyway, for those who are within a year of 30 or over there’s a shorter list. Actually, I’m sure there’s more, but I haven’t been into Kpop long enough to really know older idol groups very well. Now that I’ve given more than enough explanation, I’ll begin with the actual article.

Rain (비)


Birthday: June 25, 1982 (will be 29 this year)

Rain debuted as a singer in 2002, and has since released seven albums. He’s been in four dramas, playing a lead role in all of them. He’s also been in three movies, two of which are US films. He has equal amounts of charisma and aegyo, which I find pretty impressive. He’s a singer, dancer, model, actor, designer, and businessman. If I was him, I’d have grey hair by now, but he still looks as young as ever.

K.Will (케이윌)


Birthday: December 30, 1981 (will be 30 this year)

K.Will debuted in 2006 as a singer, but he’s also a vocal coach, dancer, composer, and actor. He’s released two full length albums, and two, eight track mini-albums, as well as contributing to 11 OSTs, and doing close to 20 collaborations. People like Rain, JYP, and actor Lee Minho have complimented K.Will’s amazing voice. He’s accomplished and experienced a lot, but his face doesn’t show how long he’s lived.

Dalmatian Inati (이나티)


Birthday: March 6th, 1981 (30)

Inati is one of the three rappers in rookie group Dalmatian that debuted in late 2010. The other two rappers Dari and Day Day are 26 and 27 respectively, but the other three members are all within a year of 20. Maybe it’s their youth that keeps Inati looking young. He also has a very sweet and fun personality, so perhaps that contributes to his young looks as well.

Brian Joo (브라이언)


Birthday: January 10, 1981 (30)

Brian debuted with idol group Fly To The Sky back in 1999, releasing eight albums. In 2006 he began solo activities, and has released three albums thus far. He’s also part of the Christian group, 3rd Wave. Since he released an album recently he was on variety shows. His personality is really nice. He’s very witty, and has good humor. In another post, (Brian Joo’s Amazing Humor)  I gave a few examples of his great humor. Maybe because he acts younger than his age, he also looks younger as well?

Tony Ahn (토니안)

Birthday: June 7, 1978 (will be 33 this year)

Tony Ahn debuted in 1996 as part of the legendary idol group H.O.T. He completed his army duty in late 2010 and is now promoting as a solo artist. He is also CEO of TN Entertainment, which is likely to be releasing a rookie group in the latter part of this year. (2011 New Boy Groups) He’s a very lively and cute person, even though he’s one of the oldest idols I know of. I was surprised when I saw his promotional pictures for “Top Star” because he looks younger than he did in his H.O.T days! I think that the 32 year olds I know need to be like Tony Ahn, but most of them think they’re too mature to act cute and silly.

I’ve come to realize that all these idols have very fun and cute personalities. I guess Proverbs 17:22 is right, “A cheerful disposition is good for your health…” (Message Version) So have fun, and laugh a lot, maybe it will keep you looking young. If not, it will at least keep you happy.


Leave a Reply

